Argentina Australia Austria Belgium Brazil Bulgaria Canada China Czech Republic Denmark Egypt Estonia Finland France Germany Greece Hong Kong Hungary Ireland Israel Italy Japan London Luxembourg Mexico Netherlands New Zealand Norway Paris Poland Portugal Rome Russian Federation Saudi Arabia Singapore Slovakia South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland Thailand Turkey United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States

– La Nouvelle-Orléans: founded May 7, 1718, by the French Mississippi Company; named for Philippe II, Duke of Orléans, Regent of France.
– Ceded to the Spanish Empire in 1763. Most of the surviving architecture of the Vieux Carré (French Quarter) dates from the Spanish period.
– Back to French control in 1801. Sold by Napoleon to the United States (Louisiana Purchase, 1803).

# # # # #

Who founded New Orleans ?