Argentina Australia Austria Belgium Brazil Bulgaria Canada China Czech Republic Denmark Egypt Estonia Finland France Germany Greece Hong Kong Hungary Ireland Israel Italy Japan London Luxembourg Mexico Netherlands New Zealand Norway Paris Poland Portugal Rome Russian Federation Saudi Arabia Singapore Slovakia South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland Thailand Turkey United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States

At the center of Beijing, the Forbidden City was home to 24 emperors of the Ming and Qing Dynasties. The construction of the grand palace started in the fourth year of Emperor Yongle of the Ming Dynasty (1406), and ended in 1420. For almost five hundred years, it served as the home of the Emperor and his household. Now houses the Palace Museum. Covers 72 ha, surrounded by a 7.9 metres (26 ft) high city wall. Inside, 90 palaces and courtyards, 980 buildings, and 8,704 rooms.

# # #

Home of the Emperor in Beijing ?