French West Indies ?

Saint_BarthCaribbean islands are called the West Indies because when Christopher Columbus landed there in 1492 he believed that he had reached the Indies (in Asia). The French West Indies (Antilles françaises) refers to the four territories presently under French sovereignty in the Caribbean: the two overseas departments of Guadeloupe (including the islands of Basse-Terre, Grande-Terre, Terre-de-Haut, Terre-de-Bas, Marie-Galante, La Désirade) and Martinique, plus the two overseas collectivities of Saint Martin and Saint-Barthélemy.

, , , ,